In Cape Charles, 11 vie for three town council seats



A crowded field of 11 residents have filed to run for three town council seats in Cape Charles, the polished beachfront vacation spot riven by the issue of short-term rentals and their impacts on the town.

Two of the three current council members whose terms end Dec. 31 did not file for re-election to the six-member council.

Councilman Andy Buchholz is the only incumbent who filed for the Nov. 5 town election. The filing deadline was June 18.

Also running for council are Edward Wells, Malcolm Hayward, Mark Usry, John Rowe, Carol Sabo, Martin Beckett, Clayton Newman, Tara Ashworth, Jo Bronson, and Courtney Fraas.

Vice Mayor Steve Bennett and Councilman Andrew Follmer are not seeking relection. Cape Charles’ mayoral seat and three other council seats are not up for election this year.

The town has been divided in opinion over vacation rentals, which detractors say take a disproportionately large number of parking spaces, create late-night noise, and erode the town’s neighborly vibe.

Proponents say short-term rentals are the lynchpin to the town’s business successes and have led to the continued renovation of blighted homes.


In Cheriton, former town clerk Stacey A. Sparrow is running for mayor against Larry LeMond, the current mayor.

In addition, there are eight candidates running for six town council seats: Ivan Pena (incumbent), Kandy Pena, Robert K. “Bo” Lewis (incumbent), Terri Lynn Tatem, B.B. “Barry” Downing Jr. (incumbent), Sheila M. Traina, Jason B. Sparrow (incumbent), and Norma Spencer (incumbent).

Council member Greg Hardesty did not file for the election.


In Eastville, incumbent Mayor James C. Sturgis is running unopposed, but eight candidates are seeking six town council seats.

Town council candidates include Eleanor Gordon (incumbent), Diane Crockett, John Crockett, Allen Philpot (incumbent), Barbara Thomas (incumbent), Bonny Lewis, Leslie Shiflett, and Anne Sayers (incumbent).

Council members not running for re-election are Mary Beth Briggs and Douglas Coburn.


In Nassawadox, incumbent Mayor Patricia Stith is running unopposed. Only three candidates filed for six council seats: John Hallett Sr., Thomas Wilson Rippon, and Andrea Fox.


In Exmore, incumbents Thomas Lewis, Chase Sturgis, and John C. “Coby” Metz all filed for re-election. Claudia Andrews is the lone candidate for a vacant council seat.

Previous articleSupervisors OK rezoning, permit for massive Onley project
Next articleChincoteague mayoral race highlights town elections