Chincoteague mayoral race highlights town elections



The race to be the next mayor of Chincoteague Island is one of several elections that are set for Nov. 5.

Voters in Accomack County’s incorporated towns will head to the polls to select mayors and town council members.

The deadline to file to be on the ballot was June 18.

On Chincoteague Island, longtime town council member Denise Bowden filed March 5 to run for mayor.

She is challenging incumbent Mayor John Arthur Leonard, who filed to run for re-election on June 17, a day before the deadline.

Four candidates are running for three Chincoteague Town Council seats: Sonia D. Watson-Conser, John N. Howard, and incumbents Gene W. Taylor and William T. McComb.

In Accomac, Mark Kirby is the lone candidate for mayor. Longtime mayor Pat Smith did not file paperwork to be on the ballot.

For the Accomack Town Council, Thomas E. Hines, Victoria L. Mohagen, and Charles A. “Chip” Lewis are candidates.

In Belle Haven, there will be a mayoral race between incumbent George H. Ludlow Jr. and challenger Lawrence Burr Willcox II.

For the Belle Haven Town Council, Edwin Long, Douglas Wehner, Cecil Ashby, Larry Baxter, and Troy A. Brown are candidates. H.A. Floyd III is the candidate for the office of recorder.

In Bloxom, Christopher F. Kreisl is running for mayor.

For the Bloxom Town Council, Samuel Bloxom Jr., James Bagwell II, Kasey Bagwell, Louella Fox, Rosemary Gibbons, Charles Edward Roe Jr., and Thomas W. Beasley are running for six seats.

In Hallwood, John W. Poulsen Jr. is running for mayor.

For the Hallwood Town Council, Pamela G. Riffey, Claude M. Linton, and Elwood Stanley Young are candidates.

In Keller, incumbent S. Beth Hart is running for mayor.

For the Keller Town Council, Rose Anna Moore, Heather Littlefield, Teresa Guy, Linda Guy, and Anna Hart are candidates.

In Melfa, nobody filed to run for mayor.

For the Melfa Town Council, David A. Peffer, Gregory J. Spady, James R. Wilson, and Raymond W. Lewis Jr. are candidates.

In Onancock, incumbent Fletcher D. Fosque is running for mayor.

For the Onancock Town Council, Omar S. Grubb, Maphis Oswald, Lisa W. Fiege, Mary L. Clements, Geoffrey M. Daking, and Gregory Temple are candidates for three seats.

In Onley, incumbent Henry E. “Ned” Finney is running for mayor.

For the Onley Town Council, Billy P. Chance Jr., A. Brian Corbin, Jason A. Campbell, W.R. “Bill” Ferguson, Rodney C. Lang, Woody W. Zember, Daniel Keith Bloxom Jr., and Arlene A. Evans are candidates for six seats.

In Painter, Connie Widgeon Campbell is running for mayor.

For the Painter Town Council, F.C. Duer III, Eric Talmadge Harris, Josephine B. Hearne, Thomas L. Willett, James N. Sturgis, and Samuel L. Lewis Jr. are candidates.

In Parksley, incumbent Frank A. Russell II is running for mayor.

For the Parksley Town Council, Richard A. Taylor, Janice Benton Welch, and Francis D. “Sam” Welch are candidates.

On Saxis Island, incumbent Denise L. Drewer is running for mayor.

For the Saxis Town Council, Denise E. Chance, Wayne E. McCleary, Aubrey Lee Miles Jr., Darrell D. Marshall, Beverly L. Hart, and Bryan P. Shreaves Jr. are candidates.

On Tangier Island, Cameron C. Evans is challenging incumbent James W. “Ooker” Eskridge for mayor.

For the Tangier Town Council, Tracy King Pruitt, Anna E. Pruitt-Parks, Kelly C. Wheatley, Sharon K. Haynie, Elizabeth P. Thomas, Timothy T. Trumble, Michael R. “Tiny” Parks, Jan C. Marshall, Norwood Evans, Bradley “Allen” Thomas Jr., and William T. “Tommy” Eskridge III are candidates for six seats.

In Wachapreague, incumbent Charles A. Elliott is running for mayor.

For the Wachapreague Town Council, Glenn Schagelin, Sandie Puchalski, Craig Baker, Aileen Joeckel, Robert Bilicki, and Stephen Joseph are candidates.

Previous articleIn Cape Charles, 11 vie for three town council seats
Next articleSupervisors raise taxes a nickel, give schools $2.3M hike in local money