Eastern Shore All-District Spring Sports Teams Selected


By Krystle Bono —
Things have finally wrapped up in the Eastern Shore district sports homestretch, and with the conclusion of spring seasons and school, coaches from across the Shore have sent their picks for the coveted All-District first and second teams.
Varsity Baseball
The Nandua Warriors won the All-District Championship this year, and with that title, came five first team selections.
Cade Williams was named to the first team as a pitcher for Nandua. Teammates Luke Parks was the first team catcher selection, Gary Kelly for first base, Cade McGregor was a pick for middle infield, and Ryan Ross was a first team outfield selection.
Chincoteague’s Braden Watson was also chosen for a first team pitcher. Teammate Todd Matthews was a first team outfield pick.
Northampton’s Landon Sayers was selected as middle infield on the first team. Matthew Reed was the designated hitter selection, Robbie Sterling was the ultility player pick, and third baseman Seth Johnson was chosen to the first team.
Arcadia’s Airey Finney was a first team outfield selection.
Second team selections went to Northampton’s Johnson and Nandua’s Everett Savage as pitchers.
Chincoteague’s Reed was also given a second team nod as catcher. Teammates Ayden Leonard was a second team pick for first base, Watson was middle infield, and Mashan Awan was a second team outfield selection.
Northampton’s Koby Sparrow was selected to the second team as middle infield.
Arcadia’s Chris Beasley was chosen as the designated hitter to the second team.
Nandua’s Bradley Colona earned a spot on the second team as a third baseman. Outfield spots went to Tyler Greene and Connor McIntyre, and Caleb Ferry was the second team utility player pick.
Honorable mention nods went to Nandua’s Dylan Ross, Northampton’s Joe Curry, Chincoteague’s Wyatt Revel, and Arcadia’s Aronte Dickerson.
Varsity Softball
Nandua’s Lady Warriors gripped another district title this year, making it their 11th straight regular season championship.
This year’s Player of the Year selection and first team pitcher was Nandua’s Parker Murphy. Pitcher of the Year was Northampton’s Mollie Travis, and Coach of the Year was Northampton’s Billy Davis for the second consecutive season.
Nandua’s Jamie Lyn Wert was chosen as catcher for the first team.
First team infield selections went to Nandua’s Leah Truitt and Lyric Sampson, and Chincoteague’s Emma Jackson and Caroline Thornton.
Nandua’s Baylee Justis, and Northampton’s Oakley Davis and Emily Kellam were the first team outfield picks.
First team at-large players were Northampton’s Ariana Wilson, Chincoteague’s Tylar Libertino, and Arcadia’s Skylar Stapleton.
Designated player pick was Northampton’s Shonique Trader.
Second team All-District infield picks were Northampton’s Riley Hook, Maeyanna Delk, and Jada Giddens, and Chincoteague’s Alanna Hall.
Outfield selections to the second team were Nandua’s Carol Hope Greer, McKinley Walsh, and Arcadia’s Hailey McDaniel.
Nandua’s Alana Shea was the second team pitcher selection, and Arcadia’s Alison Bowmann was the catcher pick for second team.
Designated player nod went to Nandua’s Haylie Justis.
Honorable mention was Northampton’s Mallory Hook.

Varsity Boys Soccer
Arcadia’s Brayan Juarez, Luis Alvarez, Angel Larreniga, and Edinson Mendez were selected to the first team All-District soccer team.
Cerio Marquez, Orion Bolster, and James Burr were Nandua’s first team picks.
Northampton had four chosen to the first team, Eduardo Mateo-Hernandez, Gerardo Maldonado-Lopez, Jose Vera, and Eddie Maldonado-Lopez.
Varsity Girls Soccer
The Northampton varsity girls soccer club had an exciting season this go-round, earning the top spot in the district, as well as signing senior Nohemi Montalvo to play with the Chowan University team next year upon her graduation.
Montalvo earned a place on the All-District first team. Teammates Yeats James, Yailin Cruz, Wendi Martinez, and Taijana Trower also earned spots on the first team.
Nandua first team picks were Karen Larreinaga, Venah Hargis, Vanessa Esteban, and Yolanda Velasquez.
Arcadia’s Angelica Rodriguez and Queli Ortiz Roblero were first team selections.

Previous articleAfter Backlash, Changes to Teacher Salary Scale Explained
Next articleTony Bruno