Contested races abound in Accomack County for Nov. 7 election


BY CAROL VAUGHN, Eastern Shore Post —

Accomack County voters will have a choice of candidates for numerous local offices in the Nov. 7 election.

In addition, voters will cast ballots for state senator and delegate.

Voter Registrar Angel Shrieves released the candidate list on Friday, June 30.

Candidates for Senate 20th District are Republican William “Bill” R. DeSteph Jr. and Democrat Victoria A. Luevanos, both of Virginia Beach.

Candidates for the House of Delegates 100th District are incumbent Robert S. Bloxom Jr., a Republican from Accomack County, and Charlena Jones, a Democrat from Northampton County, who serves on the Northampton County School Board.

Board of supervisors

Contested local elections in Accomack include three Board of Supervisors seats — in Districts 2, 4, and 5— and school board seats in Districts 1, 3, 4, 8, and 9.

On the ballot in District 2 are incumbent Ron Wolff and challenger Roger L. DeGeorges.

District 4 incumbent Paul Muhly faces a challenge from Jeffrey A. Parks Sr.

In District 5, incumbent Harrison W. Phillips III is being challenged by Calvin L. Washington Sr.

Running unopposed for another term on the board of supervisors are incumbents Billy Joe Tarr, District 1; Vanessa K. Johnson, District 3; Robert D. Crockett, District 6; H. Jackie Phillips, District 7; Donald L. Hart Jr., District 8; and C. Reneta Major, District 9, according to the list of candidates.

School board

In school board elections, Connie C. Burford is challenging incumbent Jesse W. Speidel for the District 1 seat;.

Jessica J. Lewis is challenging incumbent Lisa M. Cropper Johnson in District 3.

P. Glenn Neal Jr. is challenging incumbent Gary Reese in District 4.

Stefanie A. Jackson is challenging Ronnie E. Holden in District 8.

Alejandro “Alex” E. Vargas is challenging Malcolm “Pep” F. White in District 9.

Running unopposed for school board are Edward F. Taylor, District 2; Camesha A. Handy, District 5; John J. Weippert, District 6; and Janet Martin-Turner, District 7. 

All are incumbents except for Weippert. School Board member Paul C. Bull did not file for re-election. 

Constitutional officers

Two people —  Cedrick L. Cooper and Talia C. Taylor — are candidates for Clerk of the Circuit Court, after Sammy Cooper, Cedrick Cooper’s father, announced he will not seek another term.

Kimberly A. Satterwhite, not an incumbent, is the only name on the ballot as candidate for Commissioner of the Revenue.

Debbie Midgett is the current Commissioner of the Revenue but did not file for re-election.

Listed on the ballot in uncontested elections for other constitutional offices are J. Spencer Morgan III, commonwealth’s attorney; W. Todd Wessells, sheriff; and James A. Lilliston, treasurer.

Also on the ballot are two candidates for Soil and Water Conservation Board, Eastern Shore District, with two positions. 

The candidates are incumbent James “Jim” A. Evans and Sands A. Gayle.

Voters in three towns also will choose town council members in a special election.

Rosemary G. Gibbons is the candidate for Bloxom Town Council.

Glenn J. Schagelin is on the ballot for Wachapreague Town Council.

Two candidates, Brandon J. Brockmeier and Gregory T. Temple, are on the ballot for Onancock Town Council.

All candidates for local offices are listed as running as Independents.

Previous articleNORTHAMPTON: Teacher raises will average 7% this year
Next articleExmore will sue if sewer easements aren’t signed