Stern Appointed to Hampton Roads Sanitation District Commission

Nancy Stern. Submitted photo.

By Carol Vaughn —

Gov. Ralph Northam announced Friday that Nancy Stern was appointed to the Hampton Roads Sanitation District Commission. Stern recently retired after 37 years with Eastern Shore Rural Health System Inc., 20 of those years as chief executive officer.
She was appointed to fill the commission seat designated for a representative from the Middle Peninsula and the Eastern Shore.
Stern is the first commission member from the Eastern Shore, which last year became part of HRSD’s service area.
Stern in a telephone interview said she sees her role as “wanting to be the voice and contribute towards the future generations inheriting clean water” on the Eastern Shore.
“To be part of this is kind of interesting, no doubt,” she said.
The HRSD Commission is an eight-member board appointed by the governor. The commission meets monthly to set policy and decide budget matters. The members, who live in the localities comprising HRSD’s service area, serve four-year terms and are eligible for reappointment without limits to the number of terms they may serve.
The commission is charged with managing and controlling the functions, affairs, and property of the Hampton Roads Sanitation District, which is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, similar to the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel.
The HRSD is working on a regional wastewater project on the Eastern Shore, which will leverage excess capacity at Onancock’s treatment facility, with plans to run sewage transmission lines from Nassawdox to Accomac.
The Onancock Town Council in June authorized transfer of ownership of the town’s wastewater treatment facility to the Hampton Roads Sanitation District.
The HRSD will pay off remaining debt owed on the facility, according to the agreement.
Future phases could extend sewer service south to Cape Charles and north to Chincoteague.
Unless otherwise announced, the HRSD Commission meets at 9:00 a.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month, with the exception of December, when the Commission meets on the third Tuesday.
Agendas are posted three business days prior to each meeting at


Previous articleParksley Town Office, Railway Museum To Undergo Repairs
Next articleRocket Lab’s CAPSTONE Project Launch Shifts to New Zealand