Accomack Honors School Retirees

Accomack County Public Schools held a retirement celebration May 27 at Sawmill Park in Accomac for school employees who retired in 2021. Retirees under the pavilion are, from left to right: Ruth Lilliston, Metompkin Elementary School cafeteria worker, 25 years; Brady Williams, Kegotank Elementary School teacher, 35 years; Veronica Byrd, Kegotank Elementary school counselor, 36 years; Debra Lewis, Chincoteague Elementary School teacher, 33 years; Melody Howard, Chincoteague Elementary teacher, 34 years; Janet Powell, Accawmacke Elementary School instructional assistant, 17 years; Marlene Harmon, Arcadia High School teacher, 43 years; and Sarah Chandler, Nandua High School cafeteria worker, 25 years. Submitted Photo.

By Stefanie Jackson – Accomack County Public Schools celebrated 26 retirees and their years of service at an event May 27 at Sawmill Park in Accomac.

Eight teachers and school staff members attended and received commemorative plaques in person. Marlene Harmon, an Arcadia High School teacher who is retiring from ACPS after 43 years, received the Presidential Award for the 2021 retiree with the most years of service.

Accomack schools’ 2021 retirees are: teaching assistant Lula Bailey, science teacher Nancy Biegel, school counselor Veronica Byrd, cafeteria worker Sarah Chandler, teacher Brenda Cornish, HVAC technician David Gazda, Director of Elementary Schools Maribeth Haines, health/P.E.teacher Marlene Harmon, social studies teacher Melissa Harmon, teaching assistant Linda Howard, teacher Melody Howard, custodian Sylvia James, teacher Debra Lewis, cafeteria worker Ruth Lilliston, teacher Zenora Miller, cafeteria worker Betty Milliner, teaching assistant Linda Nolan, teaching assistant Janet Powell, teacher Christine Rich, cafeteria worker Rhoda Ross, business teacher Faith Sturgis, cafeteria worker Dawn Taylor, art teacher Michelle Wagner, ISS monitor Ann Wharton, kindergarten teacher Brady Williams, and teacher Linda Wright.

Arcadia High School teacher Marlene Harmon, who is retiring from Accomack County Public Schools after 43 years, receives the Presidential Award for the 2021 retiree with the most years of service. Submitted Photo.
Previous articleKids Count: Prenatal Care Essential, New High-Risk Care Available
Next articleA Bachelor No More, Fincen Brings Wife and Wedding to Mom’s Assisted Living