Two Phillips on the Accomack Board of Supervisors


By Linda Cicoira — Harris Phillips was victorious in his quest for reelection to the Accomack Board of Supervisors at the polls Tuesday. The District 5 supervisor received nearly 56% of the votes winning over challenger James Rich. 

Phillips got 524 votes to Rich’s 416.

“Thank you so much to all of my supporters for having the confidence in me to be your representative in Accomack for another term,” Phillips wrote on his Facebook page. “It really means a lot and I promise to do my best to represent every single person. This would not have been possible without your votes. I want to thank each of you for putting your faith in me.”

Howard “Jackie” Phillips won the District 7 seat held by retiring Supervisor Laura Belle Gordy. He prevailed over Miriam E. Riggs with 62.56% of the vote. Jackie Phillips received 989 votes to Rigg’s 592 ballots. 

“This should be the easiest vote you ever cast,” wrote a Jackie Phillips supporter. “Jackie Phillips could very easily be doing whatever he wants with his time. He chooses to serve his community. That’s just the kind of guy he is. If good ideas, common sense, and integrity mean something to you, vote for Jackie Phillips.”

Also returned in uncontested races were District 1 Supervisor Billy Joe Tarr with 1,100 votes; District 2 Supervisor Ron Wolff with 998 votes; Newcomer  Vanessa Kay Johnson, who will represent District 3, with 848 votes; District 4 Supervisor Paul Muhly with 917 votes; District 6 Supervisor Robert Crockett with 918 votes; Chairman Donald Hart of District 8 received 1,392 votes; and District 9 Supervisor Reneta Major took in 1,125 votes.

Fred W. Holland II and Jim A. Evans were also elected as directors of the Eastern Shore Soil and Water Conservation District. Holland received 6,861 votes. Evan took 5,386.

Previous articleLewis and Bloxom Returned
Next articleLilliston Wins Race for Accomack Treasurer