Leatherbury Wins Northampton Supervisor’s Seat


By Linda Cicoira — Northampton Planning Commission Chairman L. Dixon Leatherbury was elected Tuesday to the county board of supervisors to represent District 4 with nearly 72% of the vote.

The Machipongo farmer and husband of Commonwealth’s Attorney Beverly P. Leatherbury beat out David L. Kabler Sr., a real estate broker, also of Machipongo. Leatherbury received 681 votes to Kabler’s 268. The post is currently held by Supervisor H. Spencer Murray, of Franktown, who did not seek reelection.

“I’m delighted with the outcome of the election,” Leatherbury said Wednesday. “I want to thank those who voted for me a well as my campaign committee, which worked diligently. I very much appreciate the trust shown by the voters of District 4 and will do my best to live up to their expectations. I am anxious to start Jan. 1, and have two large projects to tackle next year — work on the public wastewater project and the competition of the comprehensive land-use plan. It’s my intention to be available to citizens of District 4 and would be glad to hear their concerns and questions as they arise.”

In another race, Sheriff David Doughty, of the Cape Charles area, won by a landslide with 4,076 votes. Raymond Lee Gunter III, of Belle Haven, a former Northampton deputy, ran a write-in campaign. While Gunter received some votes, his tally was less than 10 percent, the registrar said Wednesday, so those ballots have not yet been tabulated.

Former Supervisor Betsy Mapp, of Jamesville, ran unopposed for the District 5 seat on the board of supervisors. She garnered 686 votes and will take the place of Supervisor Robert Duer, Exmore’s town manager, who did not seek another term.

The board of supervisors and the school board in Northampton are on staggered terms so not all the members’ terms will expire at the end of the year.

Charlena Jones, who ran an unsuccessful write-in campaign during a previous election, ran unopposed for the at-large Northampton school board seat held by Nancy Proto, who did not seek re-election. Jones received 3,655 votes.  School board member Jo Ann P. Molera, of District 4, and William J. “Skip” Oakley, of District 5, sought re-election in uncontested races. Molera lives in Franktown and is the director of the county’s Victim/Witness Program. She received 835 votes. Oakley, of Exmore, the school board chairman, received 685 votes.

S. Kyle Sturgis and Robin L. Rich-Coates ran for the two seats on the Eastern Shore Soil and Water District Board of Directors. Rich-Coates, an incumbent, received 2,951 votes. Sturgis is a newcomer and received 2,402.

A special election was held to fill the unexpired term of J. Wesley Travis on the Cheriton Town Council. Jason P. Van Marter sought the post and won with 114 votes. Former Councilman Greg Hardesty had 32 of 33 write-in votes for the job. 

In other uncontested races, Commonwealth’s Attorney Beverly P. Leatherbury was elected with 3,760 votes, Commissioner of the Revenue Charlene P. Gray was returned with 3,989 votes, and Treasurer Cynthia S. Bradford received 3,913 ballots. 

Previous articleLilliston Wins Race for Accomack Treasurer
Next article‘Be-Bop-A-Lula’ Kid at Heart Bruce Brinkley Makes Far Out, Fantasy and Myth-Inspired Folk Art in Cheriton